I need some help.

Go here to post pictures, videos, car finds, meet interesting new people, and tell us how your car is coming along.

Moderators: 89ARIES, Webmaster

I need some help.

Postby Quickmr2 » Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:41 am

I am Kinda new to this kind of thing. I have a 1985 Chrysler Le Barron Convertible. The Gauge cluster is broken so some of the buttons don't work. It did not pass smog because of no check engine light. When I took a part the dash, there was no check engine light. I speculate that it is part of the digital cluster, and thus is not working. Does anyone know where I can get a cluster that is working from. Chrysler says they do not carry them any more, that it is to old. If anyone could help that would be great. It doesn't even have to be new, just working. Thank you :P
Quickmr2

Car Information: 1985 Chrysler LeBarron Convertible Turbo

Re: I need some help.

Postby Pete in NH » Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:11 pm

Hi,

Welcome to the club! I looked for a part number for the digital dash cluster in my 85 parts book so i could give you a part number to look for. Having a part number is half the battle when looking for a part. Apparently there were several different electronic dash clusters, one with a tachometer and one without and some options on a travel computer. So, can you describe to me exactly what is in your car? Once we get a part number there are places you can look like Partsvoice.com Arizona Parts and many online junk yard search engines. Also, there may not be a check engine light as we know them today. It may be called a power loss light which it is on the conventional analog dash clusters, I'm not sure about the digital dashs
Pete in NH

Car Information: 1986 Plymouth Reliant SE

Postby Dodge Aries K » Sun Jun 10, 2012 4:48 pm

DOes the "Power Loss" light on the dash work? If so, the smog person isn't very smart...