clogged fuel line?

Go here if you can't find the answers to your car's problems

Moderator: 89ARIES

clogged fuel line?

Postby MoparDan » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:10 pm

went see a freind a few towns over the other day and the Dodger was acting weird on the highway every couple of miles or so engine would get weak (like its running out of gas) for about a second or two then go back to normal. my brother's freind (who does all the work on his Jetta and Chevy trunk himself) said one of the fuel line might be clogged or the fuel filter is bad, I replace the that (the fuel filter) back in October so I don't think its that. It did sit with almost no gas for close to a month recently so mabey it just need some fuel injection cleaner or somthing stronger? any ideas?
MoparDan
Car Fan

Car Information: 1986 Dodge 600

Re: clogged fuel line?

Postby Jacks1986Lebaron » Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:56 am

I am NOT a mechanic, but, condensation (water) might have set up in your tank. Put a bottle of "HEET" in your tank and let it run thru.
If problem persists, even though you just changed the fuel filter, you did mention you let it sit for almost a month without any gas, so possibly when you did drive it,a dn you did put gas in it, the fuel pump pulled dirt and debris up and thru your fuel filter.

If that doesn't take care of it, have your fuel pressue checked out, you may be experiencing the beginnings of a dying fuel pump, but, usually you notice it when first starting the car, because it will crank and crank and crank and nothing.

As always start with the cheapest first "HEET", then work your way up, unless of course you have a pretty good idea what it is.
Also, did you check for "codes" ?? Might be a cracked distr. cap or rotor or your plugs/plug wires. Or one of the sensors.
Jacks1986Lebaron
Car Fan

Car Information: Chrysler Lebaron 1986-2.5 automatic

Postby 88 aries » Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44 am