Noob question on TBI Fuel pump replacement source

Come here to help us help you in keeping that car alive. This ongoing project repair site is due in part to the work of Justin Paulson and many others on this forum.

Moderators: 89ARIES, Webmaster

Noob question on TBI Fuel pump replacement source

Postby Seawolf » Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:58 am

Hi all, so I'm a total noob on the board and I have to admit to being here under somewhat false pretences since I don't actually own a K' car. I do however have a friend who is trying to get one back on the road after sitting in his garage for several years, I don't know why people do stupid stuff like that... :?

On to the problem: My pal has a 1984 Dodge 600 convertible with a 2.2l non turbo TBI engine, VIN: 1B3BV5502EG324313. Having sat for a few years the car was a non runner with zero fuel pressure, a local shop dropped the gas tank, found the fuel system clogged with paraffinated gunk and a dead fuel pump. The shop attempted to locate a new pump with no success.

Now it's landed in my lap and though I'll admit that older BMWs are more my forte I'm trying to source a replacement or info on this pump which is proving to to be very elusive.

The pump itself is a large Bosch unit with a 2 7/8" circular flange, the lower brown plastic part of the pump houses the pump itself and this is riveted to an upper alloy sleeve that connects to the flange itself. The pump has a screwed outlet that is connected to what looks like a pressure regulator, there is a single outlet and a 2 pin electrical connector on the flange. So it looks like this setup has no fuel return line.

The pump has several stampings on the bottom of the plastic housing:

Bosch Made in USA
4 279 299
4 9092
PA 66
9 580 233 010 - 927
The Mopar emblem with 445 next to it

Any info on this pump or a possible source of replacement would be much appreciated and will greatly help in getting this car operational again.

Many thanks in advance, Lee.
Seawolf