Carb for 1982 2.6

Never fear about what they say about the 2.6. It is a quirky motor, but we'll help ya keep it truckin.

Moderator: 89ARIES

Carb for 1982 2.6

Postby jjshivver » Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:00 pm

Hi All, Newbie here, JJ. I am looking for a carb for my mothers 1982 Lebaron Convert, Mark Cross, 2.6 Mitsubishi engine. (she is original owner). Any leads would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, :mrgreen:
jjshivver

Car Information: 1982 Chrysler Lebaron Convertible

Re: Carb for 1982 2.6

Postby bluepaw lebaron » Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:55 am

Welcome to the forum JJ. Marty Mopar posted some good suggestions for finding parts on March 5 on this forum. The other suggestion I have is to try your local salvage yards. Take pictures of what you are looking for and open the hoods of other 1982 vehicles you think might contain a 2.6. But you have to go and see the interchangability with your own eyes. Good luck.
bluepaw lebaron

Car Information: Chrysler LeBaron 1986 convertible

Postby carguyray » Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:01 am

There's also a conversion kit by Weber for these. It's not a 100% bolt on conversion (it says "linkage modification needed for K cars") but there's a posting in here (if you do some searches) by a guy from Wisconsin (I think it's like Beloit or Janesville) who's done it and said it's not tough at all and he HIGHLY recommends it. I was going to do that to one of mine that needs a carb, but I had a parts car fall into my lap that has a great running 2.6 so I'm pulling the carb off that.

I know the conversion page came up under "weber carb Mitsubishi conversion" for me.

Good luck and please post (or email me) some pix of the car. I've got 2 '82s so far (Mark Cross convert. W/38K orig. miles & a Medallion 4dr. w/the rare buckets/console/sport wheel option) and have gotten very into those. I'm hoping to find a 2dr. and wagon someday so I can "collect the whole set" in the most real of ways! :)
Ray.
carguyray

Postby jjshivver » Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:46 pm